Blake Bagget defuses Geico Honda powerhouse
Photos by Twebb

Stewart and Short battle for the holeshot. Dungey is mired mid pack.


After all of the hype, the monotonous blogging, the innuendo and conjecture surrounding James Stewart and his mid season move to Team Yoshimura Suzuki, JS7 shut the down on all nay sayers with a dominant performance that one former National champion called a ‘tactical win bordering on brilliant’. On a track that most of the teams consider to be the roughest of the entire year, excellent starts, quick passes to the lead, marking his competition and a smoothness to his gait ended up in a double moto win for Stewart.

Dressed in Answer blue and matching Nike boots, JS7 mated well to the factory Yosh RM-Z.

KTM’s Ryan Dungey rode brilliantly, though a mediocre start in moto one and his inability to get through traffic quickly forced him to fight until the last lap where he passed Brett Metcalfe for third place. Moto two proved to be a much closer affair as both Dungey and Stewart were forced to deal with a very wide riding Mike Alessi. Ryan couldn’t make a pass stick; Stewart did in the very same section one lap later and then seemed to set it on cruise control. According to sources James marked Dungey, then near the 2/3 point of the race belted out his fastest lap of the day- just to see if the KTM rider could hang. He could not, and finally lappers once again hurt Ryan’s mojo letting JS7 cruise to a double moto win.

Dungey had to work his way through the pack in moto one for third.

            Battling for the final spot on the podium was Brett Metcalfe, Andrew Short, Mike Alessi and Davi Millsaps. Davi took home a well fought for second in moto one, got tossed on his kiester early in number two before ending 14th. Short danced around the lead pack both motos, faded, then charged and his last lap pass on Metcalfe forced a three-way tie for third, with Alessi getting the podium kudos to his final moto third.

Metcalfe looked strong early on, then seemed to burn out late in the motos.

 Davi Millsaps rode a brilliant first moto, then crashed hard in the finale.

Shorty was a player on the Chapparal Honda.

 Dungey's pass on Metty gave him third in moto one.

Two laps to go and vintage James.




 Roczen and Barcia were this close for much of moto one.

Moto one of the 250 class was one of the most exciting, bar banging wars that we’d witnessed in years. Justin Barcia and Ken Roczen traded paint, elbows and sweat for the entire moto only to get shocked by Pro Circuit’s Blake Baggett with a last lap charge from third to first! Eli Tomac rode a strong first moto ending fourth with Roczen’s teammate Musquin (two weeks after a plate had been installed in his hand) taking fifth.

 Baggett on the juice as he reins in Tomac.

Roczen seemed to fluster Barcia momentarily.

The second moto was a lot less charged as Roczen fell early, Baggett easily worked around Barcia and walked the dog to a big lead. Tomac got stacked up in the first turn, started a half a lap down and finished 10th. A great ride went to Ivan Tedesco, racing for Pro Circuit in place of Tyla Rattray. Hot Sauce went 6-5 for fourth overall.

 With just two laps to go Baggett is in the Roxz/Barcia draft.

Blake's moto one win was huge.


450 Overall
1. James Stewart (Suzuki) 1-1
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 3-2
3. Mike Alessi (Suzuki) 7-3
4. Andrew Short (Honda) 5-4
5. Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki) 4-5
6. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki) 6-7
7. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha) 2-14
8. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) 10-6
9. Josh Grant (Kawasaki) 9-8
10. Nico Izzi (Yamaha) 11-10
11. Kyle Chisholm (Kawasaki) 13-9
12. Robert Kiniry (Yamaha) 12-13
13. Jimmy Albertson (Suzuki) 17-12
14. Tommy Hahn (Honda) 8-27
15. Matt Lemoine (Kawasaki) 19-11
16. Vince Friese (Suzuki) 15-18
17. Sean Collier (Honda) 14-24
18. Ryan Sipes (Yamaha) 25-15
19. Justin Brayton (Honda) 24-16
20. Nick Wey (Kawasaki) 16-36
21. Kyle Regal (Yamaha) 28-17
22. Michael Byrne (Suzuki) 18-22
23. Derek Anderson (Kawasaki) 23-19
24. Kevin Rookstool (Honda) 38-20
25. Ben LaMay (Yamaha) 20-35
26. Billy Laninovich (Honda) 21-23
27. Justin Sipes (Kawasaki) 27-21
28. Les Smith (KTM) 22-28
29. Austin Howell (Suzuki) 22-28
30. Sean Borkenhagen (Kawasaki) 32-26
31. Jason Thomas (Suzuki) 30-29
32. Preston Mull (Honda) 31-30
33. Michael Giese (Yamaha) 34-31
34. Dalton Carlson (Yamaha) 33-32
35. Dustin Pipes (Suzuki) 29-37
36. Josh Greco (Kawasaki) 36-33
37. Blake Ballard (Kawasaki) 37-34
38. Dakota Kessler (Honda) 35-38
39. Ryan Hughes (Yamaha) 39-39
40. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki) 40-40

250 Overall Results:

1. Blake Baggett 1-1

2. Justin Barcia 3-2

3. Ken Roczen 2-3

4. Ivan Tedesco 6-5

5. Eli Tomac 4-10

6. Martin Davalos 14-4

7. Kyle Cunningham 9-8

8. Jason Anderson 8-9

9. Marvin Musquin 5-14

10. Wil Hahn 7-13

11. Jake Canada 10-11

12. Blake Wharton 16-6

13. Travis Baker 15-12

14. Gareth Swanepoel 12-15

15. Justin Bogle 21-7

16. Jessy Nelson 13-17

17. Kyle Peters 11-30

18. Hunter Hewitt 17-16

19. AJ Catanzaro 18-18

20. Shane Sewell 19-19

21. Alex Martin 23-20

22. Killy Rusk 20-37

23. Dakota Tedder 24-25

24. Scott Champion 34-22

25. Tevin Tapia 39-21

26. Malcolm Stewart 25-39

27. Topher Ingall 35-31

28. Joey Peters 22-28

29. Zack Freeberg 26-35

30. Brad Nauditt 29-26

31. Travis Bell 30-32

32. Robert Noftz 28-34

33. Landen Powell 31-29

34. Steve Roman 32-33

35. Chris Plouffe 33-36

36. Dean Wilson 36-40

37. Phil Nicoletti 40-38

38. Johnny Jelderda 27-27

39. Preston Tilford 38-23

40. Jason Potter 37-34

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing

FMF Hangtown Motocross Classic  
Sacramento, CA 

Leave your comment
You must sign in to post
No Blogger account? Sign up here.
CAPTCHA Validation
Retype the code from the picture
CAPTCHA Code Image
Speak the code Change the code

Topic: col 1




- Inside This Issue

- Contact
- Advertise
- Back Issues

WARNING: Much of the action depict­ed in this magazine is potentially dan­gerous. Virtually all of the riders seen in our photos are experienced ex­perts or professionals. Do not at­tempt to duplicate any stunts that are be­yond your own capabilities. Always wear the appropriate safety gear.

Copyright 2008 Hi-Torque Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.
Console Login